Home

image

Gregory Peck, Jane Wyman, Dir: Clarence Brown.

This is a classic family film from 1946 which stars Gregory Peck, a kid and a woman. The kid is Peck’s son, the woman is Peck’s wife and the kid’s mom. All right, so the woman is played by Jane Wyman, but I think we’re overlooking what’s important here- Gregory Peck. This movie was made in color for the sole purpose of emphasizing Peck’s rosy cheeks. The story is about a man who is tall and has broad shoulders and a very distinctive speaking voice. There is also a subplot about a deer and how difficult it is to have one as a pet while putting up with a stern mother.

Really this is a very moving story which was well done and well-acted by everyone. I didn’t even want to slap the kid, as is the case with many child actors in such films.

The thing that really stood out to me was the boy’s friendship with a disabled child in a time where such people were ignored in movies. They still are, really, though not as much, and I hope that the movies will soon have the disabled as integrated into them as they are in real life. And not as a plot line, but just being there.

Wyman is unpleasant and hard to figure until you find out why and then your heart is sad for her. She was really very good.

I don’t typically like drama, and I refuse to watch movies that I know in advance are going to make me cry, but this one is worth it. And the tears will be brief, for the most part.

I’m not usually so demanding (that’s a lie), but I’m afraid I must insist that you watch this movie.

One thought on “The Yearling (1946)

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Oscar 2015 | My Classic Movies

Leave a Reply

