Home

cropped-untitled-8112.png

For you I do this thing. I have spent about 16 hours researching, writing, formatting, unformatting, and reformatting this nonsense. I have no idea how many hours I have spent watching these films.

This is going to be a great month of movies on TCM. Every August is, but I like to pretend it’s especially great each year. I have picked my favorite movies for each day to recommend to you. If there is a great movie on the schedule that you don’t see listed here, it is because I didn’t like it or I haven’t seen it yet. I did not include the whole schedule, just the ones I think you should watch. By listing these films, I do not mean to indicate that you should not watch the ones I did not list, though there is one movie I’m telling you not to watch, but you will have to read on to find out what it is.

Each section has the date, the movies you should watch with a very brief reason as to why you should watch them, and then there is a portion called “What They Left Out Today”. This means that, in my opinion, some of the movies they are showing could be replaced with some of the movies they are not showing, and that would improve the line-up.

So here’s your recommended viewing for TCM’s Summer Under the Stars. Read it and refer to it often. Or as I like to say, “Learn it, know it, live it.”

1-Aug
Jane Fonda

9:15 PM Cat Ballou (1965)
I Don’t Like Jane Fonda. I wouldn’t even recommend this one if it weren’t for Lee Marvin and Dwayne Hickman. I liked this movie when I was 11 and haven’t watched much of it since. Note: They are showing Klute this evening, and I have not seen it but want to, so I will be watching that.

What They Left Out Today
There are two Jane Fonda movies I actually like: 9 to 5 and The Electric Horseman. They also could have shown Barbarella- not a good movie, but it should be seen to be believed.

2-Aug
David Niven

12:00 PM Bachelor Mother (1939)
https://myclassicmovies.wordpress.com/2014/04/11/bachelor-mother-1939/
One of my favorite movies of all time. I love Ginger Rogers and David Niven separately, and I love them even more together.

6:00 PM Please Don’t Eat the Daisies (1960)
Nowhere near my favorite Niven, but I do enjoy this movie. It’s later in his career and is tainted by the styles of the time, but it’s fun.

8:00 PM The Pink Panther (1964)
Mandatory viewing, according to TCM. I don’t think it’s as awesome as they do, but I do believe you should watch it. Particularly if you like Peter Sellers, and you like comparing his physical comedy to the very few who could do it better (cough cough BUSTER KEATON cough).

10:00 PM Around the World in 80 Days (1956)
And speaking of Keaton, he’s in this one, so of COURSE I’m going to put it on the list.

1:15 AM The Guns of Navarone (1961)
You know I don’t like war movies, but this one’s actually good.

What They Left Out Today
I would love to see Niven’s Thank You, Jeeves on TCM. It’s not very Wodehouse, in fact Wodehouse didn’t like it, but I enjoyed it. Willie Best is in it too and I love him. Also, Bluebeard’s Eighth Wife is a good one for Niven, even though his part is smaller than I would have liked. Also, The Moon Is Blue, even though it’s a little creepy at times, and the girl in it is fairly annoying, overall I enjoy it. And one should never pass up an opportunity to show Murder By Death.

3-Aug
Walter Pidgeon

5:15 PM Funny Girl (1968)
This is one of those movies that does well to keep the style of the era in which it was set. It’s a biopic of Fanny Brice, the legendary Ziegfeld comedienne.

8:00 PM How Green Was My Valley (1941)
Somewhat depressing, but still good.

10:15 PM Mrs. Parkington (1944)
Any time there’s a Greer Garson movie on, you watch it.

12:30 AM Forbidden Planet (1956)
This movie is silly, but it’s one of those that you need to watch if you want to call yourself a film buff. I have many to catch up on myself, so there’s no shame (that I’m aware of) in being behind on such things.

What They Left Out Today
Saratoga. This was the film Jean Harlow was working on when she died, and it’s a great movie. Mrs. Miniver would have been good to see too, because of Greer Garson.

4-Aug
Judy Garland

6:00 AM Love Finds Andy Hardy (1938)
I love Andy Hardy movies.

8:00 AM Girl Crazy (1943)
I love Andy Hardy movies. This isn’t one, but it might as well be, though it’s not as good as most of them, it’s better than a couple of them.

10:00 AM Meet Me in St. Louis (1944)
Many of the movies that I recommend are good because of the supporting characters. This is one of them. Not to say Garland isn’t good, but really, Margaret O’Brien steals the show.

12:00 PM The Pirate (1948)
This one took a while to grow on me. I love Gene Kelly so much, but this is not the best of his performances. There are great scenes in it, and there are awful scenes in it.

2:00 PM Easter Parade (1948)
The chemistry between Garland and Astaire is great.

4:00 PM In the Good Old Summertime (1949)
https://myclassicmovies.wordpress.com/2014/04/11/in-the-good-old-summertime-1949/
I really love this movie. It’s a musical remake of The Shop Around the Corner and it has Buster in it. There’s not a thing wrong with this movie except the title.

6:00 PM Summer Stock (1950)
There are many problems with this movie that make it seem kind of like a 1960’s beach party movie, but I still enjoy it.

10:15 PM The Clock (1945)
One of Garland’s few non-musical performances. She’s great.

12:00 AM A Star Is Born (1954)
I like every version of this movie, but I have to say this is only my second favorite. The original with Fredric March is my favorite, and the Streisand version is a very distant third.

What They Left Out Today
Listen, Darling would have been good. I’m a big Freddie Bartholemew fan and it’s nice to see Garland in juvenile roles. I like her as an adult too, mind you, it’s just that her adult career was longer than her juvenile career. Some might say that this would have been a good opportunity to show The Wizard of Oz, but even though I love it, I don’t actually feel like it’s missing. There are lots of good movies on this day.

5-Aug
Barbara Stanwyck

7:30 AM Stella Dallas (1937)
Heartbreaking story of a woman who tries her best to be what she thinks people want her to be. Stanwyck is amazing in it.

5:45 PM Meet John Doe (1941)
There is so much beauty in this film. It’s really good when they take the camera off Gary Cooper too.

8:00 PM Ball of Fire (1942)
https://myclassicmovies.wordpress.com/2014/04/11/ball-of-fire-1941/
My third favorite Gary Cooper movie. The first two being Design for Living (my favorite non-Buster Keaton movie) and Bluebeard’s Eighth Wife. My favorite Barbara Stanwyck movie.

10:00 PM
Night Nurse (1931)
Somewhat shocking pre-code movie about a nurse who works at night.

What They Left Out Today
Baby Face. It’s kind of shocking because it’s pre-code, but that’s how I like my movies.

6-Aug
Paul Muni

9:30 PM Scarface (1932)
The original. Particularly gritty.

1:00 AM Doctor Socrates (1935)
The original. Not that you’ve heard of the remake which was done 4 years later with Kay Francis as the doctor, called King of the Underworld. Or the remake 3 years after that called Bullet Scars.

What They Left Out Today
I’m cool with their selection.

7-Aug
James Stewart

6:00 AM Wife vs. Secretary (1936)
I have a special fondness for this movie, particularly because it ends right.

9:30 AM Vivacious Lady (1938)
https://myclassicmovies.wordpress.com/2014/04/08/vivacious-lady-1938/
You mean you STILL haven’t seen this? My favorite Ginger Rogers movie!

12:00 AM The Shop Around the Corner (1940)
https://myclassicmovies.wordpress.com/2014/04/11/the-shop-around-the-corner-1940/
This is the story that In the Good Old Summertime is based on. Also You’ve Got Mail. It is based on a Hungarian play from 1937, which explains why all the names are Hungarian.

What They Left Out Today
I really can’t complain about the selection for the day. I’m not a western fan, but looking at the mix they have for Stewart, I think it’s pretty fair. The genres read as follows: romance, comedy, comedy, comedy, romance, war, western, western, western, drama, romance, drama, drama. There’s always someone who hasn’t seen Harvey yet though, so that would have been nice.

8-Aug
Jeanne Moreau

Nothing
There’s only one film on this day that I have seen, and, although it has its moments, I cannot recommend it. That film is The Yellow Rolls Royce. I didn’t care about it either way.

What They Left Out Today
I’m cool with their selection.

9-Aug
William Powell

7:30 AM Jewel Robbery (1932)
https://myclassicmovies.wordpress.com/2014/04/09/jewel-robbery-1932/
Look, I’m just not going to tell you again. If you need more information, read the recommendation.

11:15 AM Manhattan Melodrama (1934)
It’s called this because it’s a melodrama (not the fun, booing, hissing, throwing-stuff kind) that takes place in Manhattan. It is more serious than what I typically recommend, but it’s a good yarn.

1:00 PM Libeled Lady (1936)
https://myclassicmovies.wordpress.com/2014/04/09/libeled-lady-1936/
Just read the link. Seriously. Everybody who has seen this movie and isn’t a jerk likes it.

2:45 PM Double Wedding (1937)
Ooh, this one is fun. I haven’t written about it yet, but there’s still time.

4:30 PM I Love You Again (1940)
https://myclassicmovies.wordpress.com/2014/04/11/i-love-you-again-1940/
William Powell, Myrna Loy.

6:15 PM Love Crazy (1941)
I said “William Powell, Myrna Loy” in the last one because that’s all I need to say. Same goes for this one and the next two.

8:00 PM The Thin Man (1934)
William Powell, Myrna Loy.

9:45 PM After the Thin Man (1936)
https://myclassicmovies.wordpress.com/2014/04/11/after-the-thin-man-1936/
William Powell, Myrna Loy.

1:15 AM Mister Roberts (1955)
A break-out performance for Jack Lemmon is what makes this one so entertaining.

What They Left Out Today
I think all of the movies showing today are great, but I wouldn’t mind throwing a silent movie in here somewhere. I think they should have spanned his entire film career instead of starting up in the talkies.

10-Aug
Carole Lombard

11:00 AM Lady By Choice (1936)
Because I heart May Robson, I am requiring you to watch this movie. I assume that it’s a given that you should watch it because of Carole Lombard, but it’s also Mandatory May.

12:30 PM Twentieth Century (1934)
https://myclassicmovies.wordpress.com/2014/04/08/twentieth-century-1934/
John Freakin’ Barrymore and Carole Lombard. There’s nothing here that you shouldn’t love, but if this isn’t enough, read the recommendation

6:00 PM Mr. and Mrs. Smith (1941)
Awww yeeeah. Robert Montgomery is a boyfriend of mine and this movie is hilarious. One of Hitchcock’s best comedies.

8:00 PM To Be or Not To Be (1942)
https://myclassicmovies.wordpress.com/2014/04/11/to-be-or-not-to-be-1942/
Mel Brooks remade this movie in the 80’s and did a great job with it, but I love this one so much more.

11:45 PM Nothing Sacred (1937)
You and I are both surprised that I have not written this recommendation yet since Fredric March is my #3 boyfriend.

What They Left Out Today
I wouldn’t mind seeing My Man Godfrey on this day, but I’m beyond happy with what they are showing, so I’m not going to complain.

11-Aug
Marlon Brando

5:15 PM Guys and Dolls (1955)
People pan this movie because of Marlon Brando. They say he had no business being in it because he can’t sing. Or dance. But I have to tell you, he’s competent enough. And I’ve seen the play with a song and dance type of guy playing Sky Masterson and it wasn’t very believable. I honestly don’t know who else they could have put in the part at the time, but for me, Brando’s just fine.

8:00 PM A Streetcar Named Desire (1951)
I don’t really like Brando in this. I’m not a huge fan of his in the first place. To me, the real stars of the movie are Vivien Leigh (of course) and Karl Malden. He’s fabulous in it.

11:45 PM On the Waterfront (1954)
Film 101. Watch it.

What They Left Out Today
I don’t usually recommend against things, but I’m going to. Do NOT watch Mutiny on the Bounty. Sure, it’s pretty to look at, but how long do you want to look at it? Over three hours? Not me. What this film lacks in brevity it makes up in slow pacing. The superior version of this film is the Charles Laughton/Clark Gable. Only watch the Brando version if you want a lesson in how to make a boring film. There are so many Brando movies they could have shown this day; I’m not going to get into it. They could have put two in the Bounty timeslot.

12-Aug
Alexis Smith

12:00 AM The Constant Nymph (1943)
Creepy movie with a bad ending, but I like it anyway because I love Charles Boyer.

3:30 AM The Young Philadelphians (1959)
Truly great movie. It has plenty of that Paul Newman attitude- you know the one where everyone and everything is against him? That one. It’s kind of the same one he has in almost all of his movies from the late 50’s, so that’s not saying much, but this is one of the better ones.

What They Left Out Today
The Little Girl Who Lives Down the Lane (1976) could have enhanced the fairly lackluster lineup. I will point out, however, that I haven’t seen some of the movies all the way through that are listed for the day.

13-Aug
Cary Grant

6:00 AM The Awful Truth (1937)
Cary Grant and Irene Dunne are one of my favorite screen pairings. I love this one and My Favorite Wife. They are both hilarious.

7:45 AM Bringing Up Baby (1938)
Improbable and maddening, but a great example of a screwball comedy. Very funny most of the time, but they do labor some points.

9:30 AM His Girl Friday (1940)
https://myclassicmovies.wordpress.com/2014/04/09/his-girl-friday-1940/
This is a great example of a woman in charge. I love Rosalind Russell so very much in this film. She and Cary Grant work off of each other perfectly and hilariously.

11:15 AM My Favorite Wife (1940)
Cary Grant and Irene Dunne are one of my favorite screen pairings. I love this one and The Awful Truth. They are both hilarious.

12:45 PM The Philadelphia Story (1940)
https://myclassicmovies.wordpress.com/2014/04/09/the-philadelphia-story-1940/
Here we have a film in which the movie moves along at a perfect pace and ends perfectly. It’s a nearly perfect movie.

2:45 PM Arsenic and Old Lace (1944)
Crazy, crazy movie. You get to see Grant show off some of his physical skills.

4:45 PM The Bachelor and the Bobby Soxer (1947)
I wish Shirley Temple had made more movies as an adult. Of course, this is her as a teenager, but there was no real reason for her career to end. I guess people just couldn’t accept her all grown up. She wasn’t the best actress ever, but she was a damn sight better than a lot of her contemporaries.

9:30 PM Mr. Blandings Builds His Dream House (1948)
Myrna Loy and Cary Grant. Okay, let me make it even more basic. Myrna Loy. So watch it. And Melvyn Douglas (one of my newer boyfriends) is in it too, gumming up the works like nobody else can.

What They Left Out Today
I would have liked to see Mr. Lucky on this day. They rarely show it, and it’s one that I really enjoy. I like it more than Bringing Up Baby, but it’s not the same kind of movie.

14-Aug
Charlie Chaplin

9:30 AM The Pilgrim (1923)
There are some great bits in this one. He’s a guy who’s pretending to be a preacher. It’s silent. Deal with it.

1:45 PM The Circus (1928)
Great movie until the end. Because that’s how Chaplin rolls.

3:00 PM Modern Times (1936)
One of the silents Chaplin made after the talkies were popular. He said that his tramp character should not talk because it was out of character. I completely agree. My favorite scene is the feeding machine.

5:45 PM The Great Dictator (1940)
This one has sound. It’s the one where he dresses like Hitler and makes a buffoon out of him, and it’s one of his best. I’m stepping out on my own here to say I find the speech at the end to be too hokie for my taste, though many people say it’s one of the greatest speeches in movie history. I guess I’m too much of a cynic.

9:45 PM The Kid (1921)
https://myclassicmovies.wordpress.com/2014/04/08/the-kid-1921/
Jackie Coogan is the true star of this amazing film.

12:30 AM City Lights (1931)
Sad sad sad happy. Another talkie era silent.

2:00 AM Monsieur Verdoux (1947)
Watch this one for Martha Raye. She’s fabulous. Chaplin’s not bad either.

What They Left Out Today
I’m cool with their selection..

15-Aug
Faye Dunaway

3:30 PM Bonnie and Clyde (1967)
I like this movie but the pacing is a little slow, so you better watch it when you don’t have anything else on your mind.

5:30 PM Little Big Man (1970)
Classic Dustin Hoffman film. Things just keep happening to him and he moves on.

What They Left Out Today
Some might say they should have put Mommie Dearest on the schedule. Nope. It’s a terrible movie based on lies that Christina Crawford is spending the rest of her life trying to perpetuate to save face. Christina was left out of Joan’s will and this was Christina’s response. Joan adopted four children and they do not corroborate Christina’s story. Some of them don’t even appear in the story. If any movie should have been added to the line-up, it would be Network.

16-Aug
Herbert Marshall

11:30 AM Trouble in Paradise (1932)
It’s an Ernst Lubitsch film. Mandatory viewing.

4:30 PM The Secret Garden (1949)
This is not my favorite version of the story, but it’s a good one.

8:00 PM Foreign Correspondent (1940)
Alfred Hitchcock directs Joel McCrea and George Sanders? Yes, please. Elements of humor, suspense, and a mystery to solve. Great film.

What They Left Out Today
I’m cool with their selection.

17-Aug
John Hodiak

8:00 PM Lifeboat (1944)
Another great Hitchcock. It might leave you slightly claustrophobic though.

What They Left Out Today
It would appear that Lifeboat is the only one of his movies that I’ve seen from beginning to end, so I can’t recommend or wish for more.

18-Aug
Claudette Colbert

4:15 PM It’s a Wonderful World (1939)
Claudette Colbert is one of my favorites and this is a movie they don’t show as often as they should.

6:00 PM It Happened One Night (1934)
https://myclassicmovies.wordpress.com/2014/04/11/it-happened-one-night-1934/
See the link. I don’t think there’s anything I need to add.

8:00 PM The Smiling Lieutenant (1931)
Another Ernst Lubitsch. You know, I don’t think he made any movies you shouldn’t see. Maurice Chevalier is great in it, but sometimes hard to understand.

4:00 AM The Secret Heart (1946)
Just saw this movie a couple of months ago and it was enthralling. I wouldn’t put it on the list of best movies ever, and I didn’t even remember the title, but I did like it very much.

What They Left Out Today
Cleopatra, Bluebeard’s Eighth Wife (as mentioned previously, but since it’s not on the schedule for the month at all, it bears mentioning twice), and for the love of Mike, could they please show her version of Imitation of Life more than once a year?? It’s a lot better than the remake that everyone is so crazy about. Having seen the original first, I can barely stand the remake.

19-Aug
Paul Newman

5:45 PM Cool Hand Luke (1967)
Eggs. Lots and lots of eggs.

10:00 PM Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (1969)
And why would you not want to watch a Newman and Redford film? I can only think of two reasons: Katherine Ross and B.J. Thomas. But don’t worry, they don’t spoil it too much.

12:00 AM Cat on a Hot Tin Roof (1958)
I spent years avoiding this movie and then when I finally decided I wanted to see it, it was never on when I was available to watch it. Would you believe I’ve only seen this movie within the last year? I’ve been a fool. If you haven’t seen it yet, get on it.

What They Left Out Today
The Sting. Of course.

20-Aug

Thelma Ritter

7:30 AM How the West Was Won (1962)
sigh…It’s a technicolor western from the early 60’s, so for me that’s enough reason not to watch, but it’s actually a good movie. It won awards and stuff too, but that’s not much of a motivator for me.

10:15 AM Titanic (1953)
Less about the Titanic than the people on it, but isn’t that always the way? It might be wrong for me to call it melodramatic since it’s based on a true event, but the melodrama happens before the iceberg. (Sorry, that’s a spoiler)

8:00 PM The Mating Season (1951)
Here’s another one of those movies where opening one’s mouth and speaking the truth would fix everything, but then there wouldn’t be a movie. It’s entertaining enough though.

1:30 AM Pillow Talk (1959)
My favorite Doris Day and Rock Hudson movie. They don’t show it nearly enough.

What They Left Out Today
Rear Window and All About Eve are better than any of the movies they’re showing this day, so it would have been nice to see them on the lineup.

21-Aug
Lee Tracy

11:30 PM Dinner at Eight (1933)
From the same people who put together Grand Hotel, this dramedy has more humor than Grand Hotel, and less Wallace Beery, which can’t be a bad thing.

What They Left Out Today
I’m cool with their selection.

22-Aug
Audrey Hepburn

11:30 AM Love in the Afternoon (1957)
I just don’t understand. I could’ve sworn I wrote this one up before. I really like this movie, even though Hepburn looks 16 and Gary Cooper looks 70. In actuality, he is much younger than he looks and she is much older. And there’s Maurice Chevalier who makes it all work. Of course, the fact that it’s a Billy Wilder film should probably account for something.

6:00 PM Wait Until Dark (1967)
Very suspenseful, decently executed. I prefer the play which is much more terrifying, but this will do in a pinch.

8:00 PM Roman Holiday (1953)
Gregory Peck is lovely. I don’t like the ending, even though it’s logical. Watch it anyway.

1:00 AM My Fair Lady (1964)
Musicals 101. Doesn’t matter if you like it or not, you need to see it at least one time in your life.

What They Left Out Today
I understand that this is a chance to spotlight some lesser-known works, so I’m not going to throw Breakfast at Tiffany’s out here. That said, it would have been nice to see a couple more of her more famous films like Sabrina and Funny Face.

23-Aug
Ernest Borgnine

1:00 PM Bad Day at Black Rock (1955)
One of those movies where you have no idea what’s going on for quite some time because that’s the whole point of the film. Descriptions often refer to Spencer Tracy as a one-armed man, but he has both of his arms, it’s just that one of them doesn’t work.

8:00 PM Marty (1955)
https://myclassicmovies.wordpress.com/2014/04/08/marty-1955/
This movie breaks my heart and gives me hope all at the same time. It’s the one that changed my mind about Borgnine.

What They Left Out Today
The Poseidon Adventure, because there’s got to be a morning after.

24-Aug
Gladys George

1:15 PM Marie Antoinette (1938)
https://myclassicmovies.wordpress.com/2014/04/09/marie-antoinette-1938/
Norma Shearer steals the show. Okay, not really. I mean she’s the star, so it’s already her show. John Barrymore is always great, Robert Morley is both fun and sad to watch, and it was made when Tyrone Power was still pretty.

6:00 PM The Roaring Twenties (1939)
Classic gangster film. That’s gangSTER, not gangSTA. Don’t even come to me with one of those. James Cagney and Humphrey Bogart are always awesome, especially when they’re in the same movie.

8:00 PM The Maltese Falcon (1941)
Peter Lorre is my favorite actor in this one. And Mary Astor’s hair hits its height of stupidity. It looks fine from the front, but completely ridiculous from the back, and MGM made her wear it like that for a few years. I don’t think they used Astor to the best of her abilities here either. Note: None of this detracts from how much you should see the movie.

What They Left Out Today
Gladys George is one of those actresses that was in a lot of stuff in a supporting role, thus the great titles listed here. But yes, they are missing one- The Best Years of Our Lives.

25-Aug
Dick Powell

1:00 PM 42nd Street (1933)
Busby Berkeley at his finest. Great performances from everyone but Ruby Keeler, but that’s to be expected.

8:00 PM Christmas in July (1940)
Impish and smirky as always, this is another Dick Powell classic.

11:00 PM Dames (1934)
See Berkeley’s enormous production number of “I Only Have Eyes for You” in all its glory. And then understand why I dislike Ruby Keeler. However, I love Joan Blondell, and you’ll get to find out about that too.

What They Left Out Today
How can you show a day of Dick Powell movies and leave out Gold Diggers of 1933? I will excuse Footlight Parade since they are showing plenty of Ruby Keeler today, but how about Twenty Million Sweethearts, or Hearts Divided, or A Midsummer Night’s Dream? Great opportunity missed again.

26-Aug
Sophia Loren

Nothing
I’ve only seen one Loren movie I liked. They’re not showing it this month.

What They Left Out Today
The Millionairess. That’s the one I liked. Well, I guess Grumpier Old Men was okay. I have nothing against Loren per se, it’s just that, for the most part, she didn’t do the kinds of movies I would be inclined to watch. It’s not like she’s a bad actress.

27-Aug
Edmund O’ Brien

6:00 AM The Hunchback of Notre Dame (1939)
Charles Laughton’s “hunchback” is one of the cinema’s greatest performances. But do not “pour the wine and cut the cheese”, this isn’t Disney. It’s awesome.

6:00 PM White Heat (1949)
Some people I know argue that this is Cagney’s best film. I disagree, but I don’t dislike it at all, so I don’t argue with them. I hate representing my opinions more strongly than I actually feel them.

What They Left Out Today
I’m cool with their selection.

28-Aug
Arlene Dahl

4:00 AM Kisses for My President (1964)
Cute, sexist movie about Fred MacMurray’s little woman getting elected president of the United States. Sexist ending too. Ah, but it’s just a movie.

What They Left Out Today
There really aren’t a lot of great movies in her repertoire; I figure they have it pretty well covered.

29-Aug
Joseph Cotton

3:00 PM Gaslight (1944)
Charles Boyer is extremely scary and it is the role that people usually associate him with, so everybody thinks he’s a horrible man. Really, he was one of the sweetest guys and it would be lovely if more of him films were shown more often.

8:00 PM Portrait of Jennie (1948)
My first Joseph Cotten film. I saw this when I was 10 or 11 and I fell in love. I’m over it now, but I still think of him fondly. I haven’t seen it since then, so I’m only guessing it’s actually a good movie. Maybe I should watch it again before I recommend it.

9:45 PM Duel in the Sun (1947)
This is very much Gregory Peck’s movie. It’s a little long and it ends terribly, so as long as you know that going in, you may be able to deal with it better than I did at first. Peck plays a bad man, which is unusual. Warning: as the title might indicate, it is a western.

12:15 AM The Third Man (1949)
It took me three tries to watch this one because of the soundtrack. Everybody talks about how great the soundtrack is and to me it just sounded like SpongeBob music. After I got used to it though, I couldn’t imagine the film without it. It really does lend its own character to this great story.

2:15 Citizen Kane (1941)
Despite what the world would have you believe, this is actually not the greatest movie ever made. It’s pretty great, but I think the greatest movie ever made should have a quality about it that makes me want to watch it every time I’m flipping channels and see it on. I don’t. It’s slow. And Rosebud is a damn sled.

4:30 AM I’ll Be Seeing You (1944)
Ginger Rogers is the reason for this recommendation. It’s a straight-up dramatic romance, not my favorite kind, but it’s a good movie.

What They Left Out Today
I think they pretty much got this one covered. I would point out, however, that they are showing The Magnificent Ambersons, which I am dying to see but have just not yet had the chance. That is why I didn’t recommend it. I feel very certain I would if I had.

30-Aug
Betty Grable

6:00 AM The Gay Divorcee (1934)
Ginger Rogers is in this. Also that Astaire guy.

9:30 AM Follow the Fleet (1936)
Ginger Rogers is in this. Also that Astaire guy.

8:00 PM How to Marry a Millionaire (1953)
Ginger Rogers is not in this. But Lauren Bacall, Marilyn Monroe and, best of all, William Powell are. One of Monroe’s most famous films, though she is more of a supporting-lead character (is that a thing?).

What They Left Out Today
Betty Grable is more famous now for a photograph than any of her movies, which is unfortunate because she was pretty great. She just didn’t do a lot of the memorable films from her era. I’m completely satisfied with their selection on this day.

31-Aug
Alan Ladd

Nothing
I have never actually seen a single Alan Ladd movie. Not even Shane, and Shane is on the lineup for the night. If I had to blindly recommend one of his films it would be Shane because everyone seems to love it. But I don’t have to, so I won’t. I will, however, be watching Shane to see what all the fuss is about.

What They Left Out Today
Given my limited knowledge of all things Alan Ladd, I must be satisfied with their selection.

One thought on “2014 TCM Summer Under the Stars Recommendations

  1. Pingback: Cryptoquote Spoiler – 08/02/14 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

