Home

Note: If you read the first part of this when it was originally posted, then you should pick up at February 15.

This is going to be a monumental task. More monumental than Summer Under the Stars even. So monumental that I’m going to have to add to it in installments.  It’s because all of these movies are good, or at least the Academy thought so. Since every single movie they’re showing was at least Nom-worthy, there are more great movies to choose from and I’m going to split daytime from nighttime, just like TCM is doing. The daytime offerings are by genre and the nighttime fare is by year. So I will be telling you my single favorite movie that will be showing each day and then my favorite movie each night.

There are several days when I had a tough time choosing between two or more films, and I will let you know about that as well, because, you know, I just don’t really hold back on such things. And I will also mention some that I recommend against, as is not my usual M.O. I’ll be listing my favorites, but then at the bottom, I will list the entire schedule for your amusement and edification. Let me just get started.

ALL TIMES EASTERN

Sunday, February 1:

Category-Adventure

5:00 PM Around the World in 80 Days (1956). I choose this movie because it’s the only one over the next 31 days that has Buster Keaton appearing in it. He is working behind the scenes in some movies later on this month, but that’s kind of like me cooking a recipe by Julia Childs. It’s much better when the master does it himself. And I’m a pretty awful cook as it turns out.

Category- 1927-1930

10:00 PM Wings (1927). The very first best picture winner. It’s also the only silent movie (for those who don’t count The Artist because that has a soundtrack) that ever won best picture, having been released the same year that the first talking picture came out. It’s a war/romance story starring Clara Bow, and it evokes all the emotions that such a movie should- joy, sorrow, anger, confusion- you know, that stuff.

Avoid Cimarron. Awful film made awfuller by awful Richard Dix. I am trying to get Dix officially named the worst actor ever. It’s an uphill battle, and I may not succeed, but at least I will stick to my principles.

Monday, February 2:

Category-Melodrama

9:15 AM Random Harvest (1942). Because who doesn’t love a good double amnesia story? I know I do. Plus also I love Greer Garson and Ronald Coleman, and it’s good to love them when you’re watching a movie that stars them.

Avoid Imitation of Life as it is an imitation of the original Imitation of Life starring Claudette Colbert and is nowhere near half as good. Save your time for the good version.

Category- 1931-1933

3:30 AM Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (1932) Seriously, I would recommend every movie that is on this night. Just start watching and don’t stop until 7 AM. I did say, however, that I would only pick one film to recommend, so this time I’m picking Jekyll and Hyde. It was really tough to choose between this and Grand Hotel, which I actually like slightly better, but I feel like it’s time for something different. J&H has its drawbacks, as does nearly every movie, but this is the best version of the film, and if you haven’t seen it, it’s time to amend that.

Tuesday, February 3:

Category- Spy

3:15 PM Foreign Correspondent (1940) Joel McCrea, George Sanders, and Herbert Marshall in an Alfred Hitchcock film? Yes, please. No- HELL yes, please. I guess one shouldn’t use foul language and the word please in the same sentence. But I did, so deal with it.

Category- !934-1936

12:45 AM The Thin Man (1934) If you haven’t seen any of the Thin Man films, you haven’t been listening to me. And I suppose that’s okay, but then, why are you reading this now? William Powell and Myrna Loy were the best acting duo that ever existed. Ever. And as for the rest of the movies on this night- except for The Lost Patrol (because I haven’t knowingly seen it), you should watch them too. Really.

Wednesday, February 4:

Category- Sports

4:00 PM Pride of the Yankees (1942) Gary Cooper plays Lou Gehrig who is a lovable baseball player, loved by millions of lovely people, and then he develops Lou Gehrig’s Disease. Babe Ruth plays Babe Ruth. It’s really a very entertaining movie with only a little sad in it.

Category- 1936-1937

10:00 PM The Awful Truth (1937) The chemistry between Cary Grant and Irene Dunne was nearly as good as Powell and Loy. It’s a shame they only made three films together, and an even greater shame only two of them were comedies. I go back and forth as to whether I like this one or My Favorite Wife better, but since they’re not showing My Favorite Wife, I didn’t have to choose.

 

Thursday, February 5

Category- Gangsters

12:30 PM ‘G’ Men (1935) One of Cagney’s best gangster films. He doesn’t play a gangster though. The first time I saw this movie, it was recorded on the DVR according to the listings, but the ending time was wrong. There’s a very intense car chase toward the end of the movie and just when the car chase was abruptly ended, the movie was abruptly ended. So I didn’t even get to see who survived the crash, let alone the end of the picture. It was months before I had the opportunity to see it again. Talk about a cliff-hanger. The moral here is to make sure your listings are correct, or better yet, watch it when it’s actually on.

Category- 1938

12:00 AM You Can’t Take It With You (1938) Of course. It’s my favorite play of all time, and the movie is almost as good.

Friday, February 6

Category- Coming-of-Age

6:00 AM Captains Courageous (1937) How could I choose Captains Courageous over Rebel Without a Cause? I do like Rebel, but it’s way over-acted. So much anguish over so little. Captains is just a better film overall. If you need me to expound upon that, just click here.

Category- 1939-1940

10:00 PM Gone with the Wind (1939) How could TCM take the greatest year of film and add the following year to it, expecting to spotlight both years in the same night? I don’t know, but that’s what they did. Gone with the Wind is an epic film, and there are some great performances in it. And Leslie Howard is in it too. Now, please understand, I didn’t know what a great actor Howard was until I saw him in pretty much any other movie that he did, so I wasn’t a fan. Going back to GWTW after having seen him in, for instance, The Scarlet Pimpernel, I realized he did all right in a couple of his scenes. He didn’t feel he should do this film, and maybe he half-assed it accordingly, but for whatever reason he sucked in the movie, I agree with his opinion on the matter. Beyond all this, from every standpoint of what makes a film great, it’s a must-see, especially if you’ve never seen it before. Note: Pride and Prejudice (1940), a fun movie (also showing this night) that couldn’t be bothered to stick too closely to the book, was supposed to be in color, but because of the money spent on the filming of GWTW, they had to shoot it in black and white.

Saturday, February 7

Category- Westerns

I got nothing. Gregory Peck is pretty in his part of How the West Was Won, but I wouldn’t dream of making anyone watch the whole movie just to see that.

Category 1940-1942

10:00 PM Here Comes Mr. Jordan (1941) Robert Montgomery and Claude Rains are wonderful in this movie which is based on the play, Heaven Can Wait, and remade  in 1978 as Heaven Can Wait, starring Warren Beatty. In the original, the protagonist is a boxer, in the remake he’s a football player, but the plot is pretty much the same. That’s kind of what happens when you remake a movie. I very much prefer this version. But wait, Citizen Kane “the greatest film ever made” is on too. Why didn’t I recommend that? Eh. It’s good, but it’s boring in far too many places. And if the last word I say before I die isn’t a cussword, it sure isn’t going to be the name of a sled either. Sure you should see it, but I am only picking my favorite movie on this night, and Kane isn’t it. Neither is The Philadelphia Story but it is awesome.

Sunday, February 8

Category- Family

5:45 PM The Yearling (1946) So you took my advice and avoided How the West Was Won yesterday, and you still need you some Gregory Peck. No worries, they scheduled a Peck movie today to make up for the one you didn’t watch yesterday. I’ve written about it before, so read about it here.

Category- 1942-1944

10:00 PM Casablanca (1942) Also touted as “the greatest film ever made”, which is clearly impossible since there can only be one, Casablanca is a really really good movie. So, yeah, I’m recommending a super critically-acclaimed movie for once, but I have to take it down a notch. That’s what I did just then with the “really really good” thing. I almost always shy away from the movies everyone goes mad over. They are so built up and then I’m disappointed (don’t mention Roger Rabbit to me, ever), so I put off seeing them, lower my expectations, and finally watch. Usually my lowered expectations are still too high. But Casablanca is actually almost as awesome as everyone says it is. And if you speak to me in person, and you say Cassablanka, Cossablanka, or Cassablonka, there will be a physical altercation. It is pronounced a couple of different ways in the movie, which obviously then causes one to default to the proper pronunciation which is Cossablonka. I do enjoy Gaslight (also showing this night) but Casablanca is a better movie.

Monday, February 9

Category- War

Look, I tried. I am recommending a war movie for the night, okay, post war, but it IS war-related. And also, I recommended a war movie the very first night. They just aren’t showing anything I personally can recommend this day.

Category 1944-1946

8:00 PM The Best Years of Our Lives (1946) This film is about the way three men adjust to life after WWII. It’s very moving and sometimes exciting. It stars Fredric March, Myrna Loy, and Dana Andrews, and it was very difficult for me to choose between this and Mildred Pierce which is coming on at 3 AM.

Tuesday February 10

Category- Mysteries

10:30 AM Suspicion (1941) Cary Grant and Joan Fontaine are great in this one. Hitchcock did well to make us  feel all the emotions that Fontaine was feeling. We don’t want to believe these things about Grant, but we just don’t see how we can be reading them wrong. Very intense toward the end. One of my favorite Hitchcocks. Second place this afternoon is After the Thin Man at 4 PM.

Category- 1946-1947

2:45 AM The Bachelor and the Bobby Soxer (1947) I guess it’s a Cary Grant kind of day. Watching Shirley Temple as a young woman is fascinating to me, and I really feel like she pulled out all the stops in her performance. And again the empathy we experience is great.

Avoid Duel in the Sun. Or if you must, watch it until Gregory Peck goes into hiding. If you watch it after that, all you have is Jennifer Jones’ ridiculous acting and the absolutely terrible horrible ending. Well, now I’m afraid I’ve enticed you to watch it to see what I’m talking about. Please don’t. When you see the ending, you will yell and throw things, and I am honestly trying to save you from this. The only good thing about this movie is watching Peck play a bad guy. And he is very very bad.

Wednesday February 11

Category- Swashbucklers

10:00 AM The Prisoner of Zenda (1937) Ronald Coleman is the prisoner. It’s a great film that has great intensity. Very exciting and all that.

Category- 1948-1949

2:00 AM The Treasure of the Sierra Madre (1948) I love to watch Bogey descend into insanity. And I like his hair all messy and curly, but that’s of no consequence. I teetered between this one and All the King’s Men, which comes on this night at 8. I suppose that there are those who would recommend The Bicycle Thief, but to me, although it is a good film, it’s like that movie After Hours from the 80’s where it’s just one thing after another after another, except it’s tragic, and After Hours is a comedy. If I want to sit down and wallow in anguish for 90 minutes, I’ll roll around in fire ants. Okay, that’s a little too strong, because, given the choice between watching a very very sad but good film, and rolling around in bugs that eat my flesh while injecting itchy burny poison into me, I would surely choose the good movie. But I think you get my point.

Thursday, February 12

Category- Biographies

10:15 AM Sergeant York (1941) Look, another war movie!! See? I don’t hate them all! Gary Cooper (oh, that’s why) plays a violent hillbilly who becomes a conscientious objector while joining the army in WWI. There’s lots of humor and excitement. I have no idea how much of it is actually true.

Category- 1949-1951

1:30 AM Born Yesterday (1950) How can I possibly pick this one over a Gene Kelly movie? Because my deep respect  for Judy Holliday’s Oscar winning performance outweighs my lust for Gene Kelly dancing around Paris. Holliday’s performance is empowering and I hope that it inspired at least one woman who was in a similar situation to get out of it. Note: this is a comedy. I say that because I am saying things one might say about high drama. It has long been my opinion that we can say as much, if not more, with comedy than with drama.

Friday, February 13

Category- Horror

1:15 PM What Ever Happened to Baby Jane (1962) Bette Davis terrorizes Joan Crawford in this great film about a child star who still thinks she’s a child star, even though she’s a spinster. Great quotes. Absolute frustration with Crawford’s character at times though. There are points where you think “why didn’t she do this or that?” and the only correct answer is, “Then they’d have to end the movie.”

Category- 1951-1953

9:45 PM Roman Holiday (1953) I’m really starting to feel this month is all about Gregory Peck. Except that I know that his heyday is winding down. I will be recommending at least one more of his. Audrey Hepburn plays a princess who’s tired of being a princess and Peck plays a reporter who’s tired of being broke. One of the only movies I actually like Eddie Albert in.

Saturday, February 14

Category- Romantic Comedy

6:30 AM Vivacious Lady (1938) One of my favorite movies of all time, starring my idol. Read this and you’ll know why. Second place is Libeled Lady and you can find out why here.

Category- 1954-1955

10:45 PM The Caine Mutiny (1954) This is a great day on TCM because, not only have I written about the two favorite films of the day before, I’ve also written up my #2 picks. You can read about The Caine Mutiny here and you can read about Marty here.

 

Sunday, February 15

Category- Film Noir

4:15 PM- The Maltese Falcon (1941) Sure, I always mention Mary Astor’s ridiculous hair whenever I talk about this movie, obviously, I’m doing it right now. I would point out that it’s really only the back of her head that looks so crazy. In any case, Astor is one of the best actresses of the Golden Age, and you will have ample opportunity to find out why. Humphrey  Bogart is definitely in his element here, and Peter Lorre and Sidney Greenstreet are awesome.

Category- 1957-1958

8:00 PM- The Bridge on the River Kwai (1957) I would have recommended I Want to Live, but the ending made me not want to. I will leave it up to you as to whether I meant that I didn’t want to recommend it or didn’t want to live.

Monday, February 16

Category- Epics

1:00 PM- Giant (1956) The one that really shows you why it was so tragic for the film-going public that James Dean died when he did.

3:00 AM- Cat on a Hot Tin Roof (1958) Elizabeth Taylor, Paul Newman, Burl Ives, and Jack Carson (and the rest) are perfect.  I carry a great deal of shame around with me for putting off watching this film for so long. Don’t you make the same mistake I did.

Tuesday, February 17

Category- Crime

9:15 AM Monsieur Verdoux (1947) Chaplin as not the little tramp. It’s refreshing how evil his character is and Martha Raye is hilarious.

Category- 1959-1960

12:00 AM- Psycho (1960) Peepholes, wigs, chocolate syrup- the finer things in life.

I want to tell you to avoid The Sundowners, but really, it’s not a bad movie; I just really don’t like Robert Mitchum. Props to him, however, for attempting an Australian accent on at least 50% of his lines.

 

Wednesday, February 18

Category-  Religion

I just can’t. Sorry. Maybe The Nun’s Story (1959) for Peter Finch, but I don’t feel  it strongly enough to officially recommend it.

Category- 1960-1962

10:15 PM-  To Kill a Mockingbird (1962) Continuing with what is turning out to be the month of Gregory Peck (whose name should really be spelled Grrregory), this is the best one of the night for sure. Some of the movies offered tonight are too depressing, and one of them is downright offensive and should be forgotten.

I really don’t agree that it’s okay to show a movie about a man who falls in love with a 13 year old girl and runs away with her. Sure he gets his come-uppance, but the movie spends more time justifying his feelings than showing his downfall. And , if this were real life, the child would be severely damaged, possibly for life, but it’s not real life, so that’s good, right? Not really. The fact that young girls are sex-objectified and called “Lolitas” ought to be a big fucking (pardon my English) clue for someone.

 

Thursday, February 19

Category- Courtroom Dramas

4:45 PM Judgment at Nuremberg (1961) Tough call today. I really like all of these movies, but the performances that the all-star cast of Judgment put in are really unexpected. Judy Garland most especially.

Category- 1964-1967

3:30 AM A Hard Day’s Night (1964) Not shown enough if you ask me, and since you’re reading this, you’re kind of asking me.  It’s hilarious and almost thoroughly captures the essence of the Beatles. To the best of my knowledge, anyway.

Friday, February 20

Category- Prison

5:45 Cool Hand Luke (1967) Eggzelant movie. This is the one that let me know that George Kennedy wasn’t just the unluckiest airline pilot ever. There are some really good, really old movies on this day that are more my usual style, and also what many people say is Cagney’s greatest performance in White Heat, but Cool Hand Luke is just a better overall film.

Category- (1968-1969)

1:45 AM Oliver! (1968) which I wrote about before. Really, the other movies showing are iconic and should be watched too, but I would recommend finding a way to watch Butch and Sundance without the soundtrack. It really ruins the movie for me by bringing me to 1968 when the action takes place in or before 1908. It would have been nice if those raindrops had fallen harder on someone’s head before the song had had the chance to be recorded.

Saturday, February 21

Category- Comedy

2:00 PM Ruggles of Red Gap (1935) Charles Laughton was a genius. An absolute genius. This film is a rarity for Laughton in that it was a comedy. For reference, he had two other films come out in ’35, one being Les Miserables in which he played Javert with such perfection. And he was the dreaded Captain Bligh in Mutiny on the Bounty. Two of his most famous roles, butclearly neither were comedy. And Charles (Charlie, depending on his mood, as best as I can figure) Ruggles is adorable as always. This is very much a fish-out-of-water story, and so much fun. In second place for the day is The Producers (1967), the original, less musical version. The cast is amazing.

Category- 1970-1973

OOPS!! Nothing. Partly because I haven’t yet seen Papillon (haven’t had a good opportunity present itself), and haven’t watched Klute or Patton all the way through. McCabe and Mrs. Miller has a decent story, but again with the modern music in westerns. Oy. Mind you, these are Leonard Cohen songs, so, away from the movie, they would be great, but in the movie, they’re annoying. Why I have not seen Patton all the way through- because when I went to see it, I grew restless and started crying and being generally loud (no pun intended). My mother (who had successfully taken me to see my first movie, H.R. Pufnstuf, the week before and thought maybe I could sit through this one) had to take me home. Why I haven’t seen Klute all the way through- I’ve been working on it, but the styles are ugly to me and I have to take it in small doses.

Sunday, February 22

Category- Science Fiction

9:15 AM The Time Machine (1960) The least boring, silly, or poorly animated movie on today. And Rod Taylor is cute.

Category- 1975-1976

10:30 PM One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest (1975) Amazing performances from an amazing cast. There are several great movies on this night, but this one is really the best of them all.

Monday, February 23

Category- Drama

8:00 AM- A Patch of Blue (1965) Keeping in mind the social norms of when this was made, this movie is kind of intense. It’s also one of the most realistic depictions of a blind person up to that point in movie making.

Category- 1975-1977

10:00 PM The Goodbye Girl (1977) I don’t know why. I am not a huge Neil Simon fan and it’s not even the best movie on. That would probably be All the President’s Men. Goodbye Girl is more entertaining than the rest of the movies I guess. Just not super-enthused about what’s on this night. Don’t get me wrong, All the President’s Men is pretty exciting, and then it stops. Just stops. Credits roll. But see, it’s a true story, and when the true story ends, the movie ends.

Tuesday, February 24

Category- Fantasy

2:30 PM  A Midsummer Night’s Dream (1935) I love James Cagney’s Bottom. That’s all I’m going to say about that.

To avoid- I hate The 7 Faces of Dr. Lao, so I am telling you to avoid it. It is so offensive and the special effects very nearly make me wretch. I’m sorry that Tony Randall was so proud of his work in this, because it is a terrible movie.

Category- 1979

10:00 PM Being There (1979) Peter Sellers last film was his best film. At least I and a bunch of other people think so.

Wednesday, February 25

Category- Military Comedy

2:00 PM- This is a very tough call between The Americanization of Emily (1964) which you can read about here, and Here Comes the Navy (1934) a Cagney picture which was filmed aboard the USS Arizona. Both movies are pretty great, but I think that TAoE squeaks by as the better one. It has a much more involved plot, for one thing, and a more interesting cast for another.

Category- 1980-1985 (what? Why did they slip one film from 85 in the middle of  4 1980-81 films? Okay.)

8:00 PM Coal Miner’s Daugher (1980) Sissy Spacek does a great job playing Loretta Lynn. Not really excited about tonight’s movies, to be honest. Several very good ones, but I don’t want to watch a movie about a lovable alcoholic whose greatest moments in the film are when he is drunk, and Fame is just a bit on the trite side. Gloria is pretty good, but it’s ugly. Out of Africa is good, but if not for the cinematography and scenery, the plot would have this movie being about 30 minutes- 45 minutes tops. Am I possibly hypocritical for this recommendation, based on my scathing anti-Lolita stance? Maybe. I don’t know. At least Dolittle took his 13 year old away and married her, and this film is from Loretta Lynn’s perspective and it addresses the fact that she had to grow up while she was raising kids and also how she had to snap her husband into shape. I guess if it doesn’t bother her so much, it shouldn’t bother me.

Thursday, February 26

Category- Political

1:30 PM Meet John Doe (1941) Gary Cooper? Yes, please. This dramedy will keep you thoughtful for a good ten minutes after you watch it and then reality sets in. Frank Capra directs, Barbara Stanwyck co-stars.

Category-  1981-1983

4:30 AM Diner (1982) You gonna finish that? See Mickey Rourke when he looked human. Watch a woman take a baseball quiz with marriage at stake. Be one degree closer to Kevin Bacon. No, seriously, do all of these things.

Friday, February 27

Category- Historical

12:15 PM The Lion in Winter (1968) I confess I only saw most of this movie. What I saw was good; it was on late at night and I fell asleep. Katharine Hepburn was magnificent, and that’s saying a lot when I say it, because I border on being one of her detractors (I guess I will be looking for hate comments at the bottom of this post). So, you and I will be catching the end together.

Category- 1982-1989

10:15 PM Ghandi (1982) It’s about this guy named Ghandi.

Saturday, February 28

Category- Thrillers

6:00 Am The Window (1949) So many feelings about this movie. Bobby Driscoll (age 11) was brilliant. You may remember him as Disney’s first child star. Also, the first Disney child star to be tossed out on his ear, get hooked on drugs, and have a generally terrible life. Then he died at age 30. If you watch this film, you will see that he had the talent to continue acting for the rest of his life. He really was amazing, and it was very unusual for a child of 11 to carry a movie back then, but he did it. It was because of this film that Disney took notice and put him in Treasure Island, So Dear to My Heart, Peter Pan (yes, the cartoon was drawn to look like him) and more. This is one of the best movies on this month.

Category- 1991-1996

4:00 AM The Fisher King (1991) This is the second movie I sought out the day I heard Robin Williams had died. It’s one of his best performances. The first was Popeye, but I’m one of 26 people on the planet who like that one. Rest assured, I can see why people don’t, so don’t worry, my opinions are still valid.

Sunday, March 1

Category- Musicals

6:30 AM Gold Diggers of 1933 (1933) Can’t say enough about this one, but I came close here.

Category- 1997-2002

10:15 PM Chicago (2002) When people take stage musicals and put them on the screen, they often don’t work. This one really did. I love Queen Latifah, Charles C. Reilly, and EVEN Richard Gere (again, not much of a fan), all of whom were excellent. AND Zellweger didn’t screw it up either.

Monday, March 2

Category- Disaster

5:30 AM San Francisco (1936) Typically disaster movies aren’t that awesome and their Oscars are almost always limited to special effects. San Francisco has amazing effects and is also a good movie. Read the full recommendation here.

Category- 2001-2003

They’re showing the entire Lord of the Rings trilogy tonight. Watch it or don’t. It’s about a short guy with hairy feet who has great concern for some rings.

 

Tuesday, March 3

Category- Romance

2:45 PM Love Affair (1939) Based on the list of movies showing today, it would appear that the definition of “romance”  movie is a movie that has people who fall in love and then the movie ends unsatisfactorily. Of this genre, I have to say that Love Affair ends the least unsatisfactorily. It was remade as An Affair to Remember in 1957 with an even more unsatisfactory ending, so I guess that makes it true romance. In any case, this is the one you watch today.

Category- 2006-2011

IT’S A TIE!! So, I couldn’t come up with one. It’s my blog; I can do what I want. With that in mind, I enthusiastically recommend both

8:00 PM The Artist (2011) I have deep and unsettling feelings of love for this movie, which is mostly non-dialog, but since it has a soundtrack, purists do not consider it a silent film. And, as I said, it’s only mostly non-dialog.

and

10:00 PM The King’s Speech (2010) One of my few living boyfriends stars as the king with a stutter, based on a true story. Geoffrey Rush is pretty awesome as his speech therapist.

 

I hope this post has been a light in the fog for you all. Or something to ridicule. The fact that you’re reading these last three sentences (however incomplete) is good enough for me.

FULL SCHEDULE

Sunday February 1

6:00 AM The Old Man and the Sea (1958)

7:30 AMThe Jungle Book (1942)

9:30 AM The Four Feathers (1939)

11:45 AM The Wind and the Lion (1975)

2:00 PM The Great Race (1965)

5:00 PM Around the World in 80 Days (1956)

8:00 PM And the Oscar Goes to… (2014)

10:00 PM Wings (1927)

12:45 AM All Quiet on the Western Front (1930)

3:00 AM Cimarron (1930)

5:15 AM The Broadway Melody (1929)

 

Monday February 2

7:15 AM Camille (1937)

9:15 AM Random Harvest (1942)

11:30 AM Humoresque (1946)

1:45 PM The Great Lie (1941)

3:45 PM Magnificent Obsession (1954)

5:45 PM Imitation of Life (1959)

8:00 PM Little Women (1933)

10:00 PM 42nd Street (1933)

11:45 PM The Public Enemy (1931)

1:30 AM Grand Hotel (1932)

3:30 AM Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (1932)

5:30 AM The Champ (1931)

 

Tuesday February 3

7:00 AM The Red Danube (1949)

9:00 AM Suzy (1936)

11:00 AM The Fallen Sparrow (1943)

12:45 PM Ice Station Zebra (1968)

3:15 PM Foreign Correspondent (1940)

5:30 PM North by Northwest (1959)

8:00 PM A Tale of Two Cities (1935)

10:15 PM Mutiny on the Bounty (1935)

12:45 AM The Thin Man (1934)

2:30 AM Top Hat (1935)

4:30 AM The Lost Patrol (1934)

5:45 AM Roberta (1935)

 

Wednesday February 4

7:15 AM Good News (1947)

9:00 AM Million Dollar Mermaid (1952)

11:00 AM Grand Prix (1966)

2:00 PM Somebody Up There Likes Me (1956)

4:00 PM Pride of the Yankees (1942)

6:15 PM Pat and Mike (1952)

8:00 PM Swing Time (1936)

10:00 PM The Awful Truth (1937)

12:00 AM Grand Illusion (1937)

2:00 AM The Life of Emile Zola (1937)

4:15 AM The Last of the Mohicans (1936)

 

Thursday February 5

6:00 AM Manhattan Melodrama (1934)

8:00 AM Star Witness (1931)

9:30 AM Little Caesar (1930)

11:00 AM Smart Money (1931)

12:30 PM ‘G’ Men (1935)

2:00 PM Bonnie and Clyde (1967)

4:00 PM Pete Kelly’s Blues (1955)

5:45 PM Robin and the 7 Hoods (1964)

8:00 PM The Adventures of Robin Hood (1938)

10:00 PM And the Oscar Goes to… (2014)

12:00 AM You Can’t Take It with You (1938)

2:15 AM Four Daughters (1938)

4:00 AM Boys Town (1938)

 

Friday February 6

6:00 AM Captains Courageous (1937)

8:00 AM Little Women (1949)

10:15 AM My Life as a Dog (1986)

12:00 PM The 400 Blows (1959)

1:45 PM Splendor in the Grass (1961)

4:00 PM Rebel without a Cause (1955)

6:00 PM TheReivers (1969)

8:00 PM Wuthering Heights (1939)

10:00 PM Gone with the Wind (1939)

2:00 AM The Man in the Iron Mask (1939)

4:00 AM Pride and Prejudice (1940)

 

Saturday February 7

6:00 AM How the West Was Won (1962)

9:00 AM The Naked Spur (1953)

11:00 AM And the Oscar Goes To… (2014)

1:00 PM She Wore a Yellow Ribbon (1949)

3:00 PM Cheyenne Autumn (1964)

5:45 PM The Professionals (1966)

8:00 PM The Philadelphia Story (1940)

10:00 PM Here Comes Mr. Jordan (1941)

11:45 PM Citizen Kane (1941)

2:00 AM Mrs. Miniver (1942)

4:15 AM Great Dictator (1940)

 

Sunday February 8

6:30 AM Tom Thumb (1958)

8:15 AM The Wonderful World of the Brothers Grimm (1962)

10:45 AM Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (1968)

1:15 PM The Brave One (1956)

3:00 PM National Velvet (1944)

5:45 The Yearling (1946)

8:00 PM Lassie Come Home (1943)

10:00 PM Casablanca (1942)

12:00 AM Gaslight (1944)

2:00 AM Woman of the Year (1942)

4:00 AM Thirty Seconds Over Tokyo (1944)

 

Monday February 9

6:30 AM Destination Tokyo (1943)

9:00 AM Bombardier (1943)

10:45 AM Sahara (1943)

12:30 PM They Were Expendable

3:00 PM Battleground (1949)

5:00 PM The Young Lions (1958)

8:00 PM The Best Years of Our Lives (1946)

11:00 PM The Story of G.I. Joe (1945)

1:00 AM Laura (1944)

3:00 AM Mildred Pierce (1946)

5:00 AM The Harvey Girls (1946)

 

Tuesday February 10

7:00 AM Julie (1956)

9:00 AM Crossfire (1947)

10:30 AM Suspicion (1941)

12:30 PM Mystery Street (1950)

2:15 PM The Fallen Idol (1948)

4:00 PM After the Thin Man (1936)

6:00 PM Charade (1963)

8:00 PM Gentleman’s Agreement (1947)

10:15 PM The Killers (1946)

12:15 AM Duel in the Sun (1947)

2:45 AM The Bachelor and the Bobby-Soxer (1947)

4:30 AM Smash-Up, The Story of a Woman (1947)

 

Wednesday February 11

6:30 AM The Corsican Brothers (1941)

8:30 AM The Flame and the Arrow (1950)

10:00 AM The Prisoner of Zenda (1937)

11:45 AM Captain Blood (1935)

1:45 The Sea Hawk (1940)

4:00 PM The Three Musketeers (1948)

6:15 PM The Four Musketeers (1975)

8:00 PM All the King’s Men (1949)

10:00 PM Twelve O’Clock High (1949)

12:15 AM The Bicycle Thief (1948)

2:00 AM The Treasure of the Sierra Madre (1948)

4:15 AM Mighty Joe Young (1949)

 

Thursday February 12

6:00 AM Edison, The Man (1940)

8:00 AM Lust for Life (1956)

10:15 AM Sergeant York (1941)

12:45 PM The Miracle Worker (1962)

2:45 PM The Spirit of St. Louis (1957)

5:15 PM Funny Girl (1968)

8:00 PM The Gunfighter (1950)

9:30 PM The Third Man (1949)

11:30 PM An American in Paris (1951)

1:30 AM Born Yesterday (1950)

3:30 AM Father of the Bride (1950)

5:30 AM The Lavender Hill Mob (1951)

 

Friday February 13

7:00 AM The Hunchback of Notre Dame

9:00 AM The Picture of Dorian Gray (1945)

11:00 AM The Bad Seed (1956)

1:15 PM What Ever Happened to Baby Jane (1962)

3:45 PM The Birds (1963)

6:00 PM Poltergeist (1982)

8:00 PM How to Marry a Millionaire (1953)

9:45 PM Roman Holiday (1953)

12:00 AM From Here to Eternity (1953)

2:15 AM A Place in the Sun (1951)

4:30 AM Ivanhoe (1952)

 

Saturday February 14

6:30 AM Vivacious Lady (1938)

8:15 AM Libeled Lady (1936)

10:00 AM Holiday (1938)

11:45 AM Skylark (1941)

1:30 PM Adam’s Rib (1949)

3:30 PM The More the Merrier (1943)

5:30 PM Irma La Douce (1963)

8:00 PM The Red Balloon (1956)

8:45 The Harder They Fall (1956)

10:45 PM The Caine Mutiny (1954)

1:00 AM Marty (1955)

2:45 AM Blackboard Jungle (1955)

4:45 AM The Man with the Golden Arm (1955)

 

Sunday February 15

7:00 AM Johnny Eager (1942)

9:00 AM T-Men (1948)

10:45 AM Naked City (1948)

12:30 PM The Asphalt Jungle (1950)

2:30 PM The Blue Dahlia (1946)

4:15 PM The Maltese Falcon (1941)

6:00 PM Key Largo (1948)

8:00 PM The Bridge on the River Kwai (1957)

11:00 PM The Defiant Ones (1958)

1:00 AM I Want to Live! (1958)

3:15 AM Raintree County (1957)

 

Monday February 16

6:15 AM Quo Vadis (1951)

9:15 AM Exodus (1960)

1:00 PM Giant (1956)

4:30 PM Nicholas and Alexandra (1971)

8:00 PM Anatomy of a Murder (1959)

11:00 PM Pillow Talk (1959)

1:00 AM Gigi (1958)

3:00 AM Cat on a Hot Tin Roof (1958)

5:00 AM The Brothers Karamazov (1958)

 

Tuesday February 17

7:30 AM Fury (1936)

9:15 AM Monsieur Verdoux (1947)

11:30 AM The Mark (1961)

1:45 PM In Cold Blood (1967)

4:15 PM The Thomas Crown Affair (1968)

6:00 PM Bullitt (1968)

8:00 PM Ben-Hur (1959)

12:00 AM Psycho (1960)

2:00 AM Sunrise at Campobello (1960)

4:45 AM The Sundowners (1960)

 

Wednesday February 18

7:15 AM The Big Fisherman (1959)

10:15 The Shoes of the Fisherman (1968)

2:45 PM The Nun’s Story (1959)

5:30 PM The Greatest Story Ever Told (1965)

8:00 PM The Apartment (1960)

10:15 PM To Kill a Mockingbird (1962)

12:30 AM The Hustler (1961)

3:00 AM Days of Wine and Roses (1962)

5:15 Lolita (1961)

 

Thursday February 19

8:15 AM Twilight of Honor (1963)

10:15 AM Trial (1955)

12:30 PM Witness for the Prosecution (1958)

2:30 PM Inherit the Wind (1960)

4:45 PM Judgment at Nuremberg (1961)

8:00 PM Dr. Strangelove, Or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb (1964)

9:45 PM The Sand Pebbles (1966)

1:15 AM A Man for All Season (1966)

3:30 AM A Hard Day’s Night (1964)

5:00 AM Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner (1967)

 

Friday February 20

7:00 AM Weary River (1929)

8:30 AM The Big House (1930)

10:00 AM I Am a Fugitive from a Chain Gang (1932)

11:30 AM White Heat (1949)

1:30 PM Caged (1950)

3:15 PM Birdman of Alcatraz (1962)

5:45 PM Cool Hand Luke (1967)

8:00 PM Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (1969)

10:00 PM Planet of the Apes (1968)

12:00 AM Easy Rider (1969)

1:45 AM Oliver! (1968)

4:30 AM Rachel, Rachel (1968)

 

Saturday February 21

6:15 AM Speedy (1928)

7:45 AM She Done Him Wrong (1933)

9:00 AM The Ladykillers (1955)

10:45 AM A Day at the Races (1937)

12:45 Way Out West (1937)

2:00 PM Ruggles of Red Gap (1935)

3:45 PM Auntie Mame (1958)

6:15 PM  The Producers (1967)

8:00 PM Patton (1970)

11:00 PM McCabe and Mrs. Miller (1971)

1:15 AM Papillon (1973)

4:00 AMKlute (1971)

 

Sunday February 22

6:00 AM One Million B.C. (1940)

7:30 AM When Dinosaurs Ruled the Earth (1971)

9:15 AM The Time Machine (1960)

11:00 AM Forbidden Planet (1956)

12:45 PM 2001: A Space Odyssey (1968)

3:30 PM 2010 (1984)

5:30 PM Close Encounters of the Third Kind (1977)

8:00 PM The Man Who Would Be King (1975)

10:30 PM One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest (1975)

1:00 AM Dog Day Afternoon (1975)

3:15 AM Network (1976)

5:30 AM Bound for Glory (1976)

 

Monday February 23

8:00 AM A Patch of Blue (1965)

10:00 AM Kings Row (1941)

12:15 PM Of Mice and Men (1939)

2:15 East of Eden (1955)

4:15 PM Jezebel (1938)

6:00 PM Alice Doesn’t Live Here Anymore (1974)

8:00 PM Annie Hall (1977)

10:00 PM The Good bye Girl (1977)

12:00 AM All the President’s Men (1976)

2:30 AM Barry Lyndon (1975)

 

Tuesday February 24

6:00 AM Finian’s Rainbow (1968)

8:30 AM 7 Faces of Dr. Lao (1964)

10:30 AM The Thief of Bagdad (1940)

12:30 PM Kismet (1944)

2:30 A Midsummer Night’s Dream (1935)

5:00 PM Berkeley Square (1933)

6:30 PM It Happened Tomorrow (1944)

8:00 PM A Little Romance (1979)

10:00 PM Being There (1979)

12:30 AM Kramer vs Kramer (1979)

2:30 AM The Great Santini (1979)

4:30 AM 10 (1979)

 

Wednesday February 25

6:45 AM General Spanky (1936)

8:00 AM What Next, Corporal Hargrove (1945)

10:00 AM Take the High Ground! (1953)

12:00 PM Once Upon a Honeymoon (1942)

2:00 PM The Americanization of Emily (1964)

4:15 PM Here Comes the Navy (1934)

5:45 Mister Roberts (1955)

8:00 PM Arthur (1981)

9:45 PM Coal Miner’s Daughter (1980)

12:00 AM Out of Africa (1985)

2:45 AM Fame (1980)

5:00 AM Gloria (1980)

 

Thursday February 26

7:15 AM The Gorgeous Hussy (1936)

9:00 AM Seven Days in May (1964)

11:00 AM Z (1969)

1:30 PM Meet John Doe (1941)

3:45 PM Mr. Smith Goes to Washington (1939)

6:00 PM The Candidate (1972)

8:00 PM Absence of Malice (1981)

10:00 PM The Verdict (1982)

12:15 AM Chariots of Fire (1981)

2:30 AM The Big Chill (1983)

4:30 AM Diner (1982)

 

Friday February 27

6:30 AM Julius Caesar (1953)

8:45 AM Disraeli (1929)

10:15 AM Knights of the Round Table (1953)

12:15 PM The Lion in Winter (1968)

2:30 PM 55 Days at Peking (1963)

5:15 The Emigrants (1971)

8:00 PM Running on Empty (1988)

10:15 PM Gandhi (1982)

1:30 AM Glory (1989)

3:45 AM A Cry in the Dark (1988)

 

Saturday February 28

6:00 AM The Window (1949)

7:15 AM Night Must Fall (1937)

9:15 AM Kind Lady (1951)

10:45 AM Wait Until Dark (1967)

12:45 PM The Narrow Margin (1952)

2:00 PM Strangers on a Train (1951)

3:45 PM Shadow of a Doubt (1943)

5:45 PM The China Syndrome (1979)

8:00 PM A River Runs through It (1992)

10:30 PM  A Few Good Men (1992)

1:00 AM The English Patient (1996)

4:00 AM The Fisher King (1991)

 

Sunday March 1

6:30 AM Gold Diggers of 1933 (1933)

8:15 AM Shall We Dance (1937)

10:15 AM You Were Never Lovelier (1942)

12:15 PM On the Town (1949)

2:00 PM The Music Man (1962)

4:45 PM Fiddler on the Roof (1971)

8:00 PM Life is Beautiful (1998)

10:15 PM Chicago (2002)

12:30 AM Shakespeare in Love (1998)

2:45 AM The Cider House Rules (1999)

 

Monday March 2

5:30 AM San Francisco (1936)

7:30 AM Green Dolphin Street (1947)

10:00 AM The Hurricane (1937)

11:45 AM The Last Voyage (1960)

1:30 PM Them! (1954)

3:30 PM The Swarm (1978)

6:00 PM The Poseidon Adventure (1972)

8:00 PM Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring (2001)

11:15 PM Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (2002)

2:30 AM Lord of the Rings: Return of the King (2003)

 

Tuesday March 3

6:00 AM The Umbrellas of Cherbourg (1964)

7:45 AM Far from the Madding Crowd (1967)

10:45 AM That Hamilton Woman (1941)

1:00 PM Dodsworth (1936)

2:45 PM  Now, Voyager (1942)

4:45 PM Love Affair (1939)

6:15 PM Georgy Girl (1966)

8:00 PM The Artist (2011)

10:00 PM The King’s Speech (2010)

12:30 AM No Country for Old Men (2007)

2:45 AM The Queen (2006)

Leave a Reply

